Abby Jimenez’s Yours Truly: My Review

--

A fake dating story you won’t wanna miss…

The second book in Abby Jimenez’s Part of Your World Series is Yours Truly.

I honestly didn’t have faith that the second book would be this good…

The story follows ER doctors Briana Ortiz and Jacob Maddox as they slowly (and I mean painfully slowly) fall in love.

Okay, it’s not really the falling in love part that takes forever. It’s the going from fake dating to real dating.

I love a good fake dating story, but the miscommunication trope drives me insane in this story. I hated that Briana thought Jacob was in love with his ex, Amy, for most of the book.

It was mildly infuriating to watch them both falling in love but neither of them telling the other. (Jacob because he thought Briana was only being nice to him because he’s donating a kidney to her brother….Gahhhhhh!!)

I also hated that Briana was so broken she couldn’t accept that Jacob wouldn’t hurt her. (She didn’t think he’d “be harmless” to her — a phrase that’s repeated throughout the book because Briana’s ex husband cheated on her with her best friend after 12 years of marriage and Jacob’s ex didn’t factor his social anxiety into their relationship and dragged him to events he hated for years.)

But I can understand it’s because she’s been cheated on and her best friend is the other woman. That’s a double betrayal.

She’s also getting divorced and she miscarried a baby the year prior, a baby she’s sure her now ex-husband didn’t even want.

Combine that with the fact that her father left her mother while she was pregnant with her little brother, Benny.

It’s hard for her to trust men. I get it.

But it honestly dragged on a little too long for me.

I loved that Jacob didn’t give up and let her into his heart and his mind by giving her his journal so she’d know exactly how he’d been feeling — something she apparently needed in order to trust him. It cleared everything up and made her believe his true feelings for her…with 10 pages left in the book! 😑

I would have loved to see them have some time to date and have fun before Briana gets accidentally pregnant. And I would have loved to see more happen when they went to Wakan to visit her best friend, Alexis, and her husband, Daniel.

They get trapped inside a room where the door is stuck shut and…nothing happens??

Like, come on!

Wakan is supposed to be this magical place, according to the first book in the series, Part of Your World. It made Alexis fall in love with it and it dragged her back because it needed her. The people in the town needed her.

But they just fast forward two years into the future towards the end and skip everything good in between them becoming officially a couple and them having a baby. I wanted to see more of the real dating part — without the miscommunication muddying everything up.

But overall, I loved the book. The letters they wrote back and forth. The way they described Jacob’s anxiety so realistically (it felt like being in my own head IRL sometimes).

I also loved the writing style. It’s exactly my kind of writing. It was descriptive when it needed to be (and not when it didn’t). And it was lyrical and beautiful when describing their feelings for each other.

It made me not even wanna finish reading the book, although I was dying to know how it ended. Similar to how I felt after reading Part of Your World.

It’s a bittersweet feeling coming to the end of a story so well written.

I loved Briana and Jacob’s story and maybe you will too.

If you haven’t already, I’d highly recommend you read this. But not before you read Alexis and Daniel’s story in Part of Your World.

Go check out my review on that one.

--

--

Author Shanea Patterson - SP Publishing

I write about books, publishing, and self-promotion for authors. I write book reviews and compare publishing tools. Also write about TV/movies, & travel stuff.